Weekly Fallen London Questions, 27/11/2023

Here’s this week’s thread for quick Fallen London questions!

so, i have a question: i have recently reached notability 5(harray!), and, as my Persuasive will reach a natural 200 soon, i am prepring for the upgrade to a reputition of some importence-how ever, i am uncertein of if said upgrade will consume my notability and return me to 0-and, if so, what that will do to my profession. if my profession is the type that requires 5 notability(what are thouse called? i dont seem able to recall), will i be…fired, i guess? many thanks to all who answer.

p.s: yes, my english is not the best, i am aware. it’s not my first language.

I believe (going from memory on this, so not 100% sure it’s correct) the Notability requirement for a profession is only to join the profession-- it should have no effect on whether you stay in that profession.

well, that’s great! does the POSI upgrade drain your notability, tho?

Indeed it does. Do you have access to a reliable source of Making Waves?

creative projects in the empress’s court, accuiring parabola-linin from the spider philosophers and using it in the “home in the marshses” card, charity with the soft-hearted widow, the thing where you secrefice a faveor in high places on the rooftop shack card, and i have a friend that lets me invite him to dante’s grill. that’s it, more or less.

Can you set up a Salon? Alternatively, do you have enough items to just go through the cross-conversion carousel until you have enough Making Waves to get a sixth point of Notability?

1-i might. dont know how to do that. 2-i dont have the glim shards and the parabola-linin scrap, but i do have quite alot of fav’s in high places, so i could do it with a liitle grinding.

You can check what you need to set up a Salon.
I don’t think we’re talking about the same carousel.

In general, there is a guide about how to go about getting some Making Waves.