The Two Charming Devils

I was thoroughly wooed by the Quiet Deviless and the Affectionate Devil, but as our intimacy deepened they asked me for my soul. I suspect that if I were to comply to their wishes, it would potentially be my last interaction with them, which leads me to believe our entire relationship was just a ploy for my soul. However, in our previous excursions there seemed to be genuine affection and when refusing the Affectionate Devil’s gifts he respectfully accepts rejection like a true gentleman. Now I am wondering if there was any bond at all or if they were only after me for my soul the entire time. Since I am not yet well educated on all the ways of Fallen London, I would love to hear your thoughts on the matter. Also please excuse me if I’ve misinterpreted the proper way to create posts as this is my first time.

It’s safe to say they were only ever after your soul. Sorry, chap, but that’s the way devils are. They scheme and they ploy and they’re terribly charming, but in the end, they all just see you as a sacrificial lamb.

If you buy the Quiet Deviless with Fate she says some interesting things that do indicate she has real feelings for you. But unless and until you have the Fate, she likely just sees you as wrapping paper around the soul she’s gonna get out of you. I can dig up that echo in my journal, if you like. (She’s available as a Fate-locked companion either through the Western Tower lodging card, which you get when you have a guest room at the Brass Embassy, or during the Feast of the Exceptional Rose.)

As for the Affectionate Devil: [spoiler]
(These spoilers discuss things that happen and things the Devil says during the Intimate of Devils storyline, so avoid them if you don’t want it spoiled for you)