Someone reassure me that the Amanumensis...

… still pops by from time to time, without invitation? Neither my husband nor I have seen him for a week, where other Infrequent cards have still been appearing with distressing frequency.[li]

He does, yes. The RNG is just spiteful and full of malice and will never give you the cards you want.
At least you don’t need to worry about drawing that card much any more once you get one point of Notability, seeing as there’s no cost for summoning him any more.

Pretty much what Spacemarine said. During my grind to Notability 9 (I don’t even remember how long I’ve been grinding), I think I’ve drawn the card 3 times, including the initial first point of Notability.

What I’d recommend is during your card flipping, spend your extra actions on obtaining higher BDR items. It will save you hundreds of actions in the long run, let me tell you.

Thank you - I’m actually a veteran of the notability game OPG, but I’ve not seen him turn up unbidden since he became more amenable to house calls.
Spacemarine: Oh don’t say that. It sent me a lovely pair of dice for advent.

I haven’t seen him in more than a week too. I used all my Notability buying lodgings and he has not appeared since.

He shows up. I have the card in my hand right now.

If you have enough BDR and Waves you can summon him via Society and Scandal, if not he does turn up on occasion.

I have Notability, so I could make enough waves to summon him. But if I do he’s just going to come by soon after or soon before and tell me how I could’ve saved the effort if I had just waited a bit longer. The thing is, with BDR 15 the difference between paying 3 out of 3 Notability and 3 out of 4 Notability is 153 - 15 = 138 CP of Making Waves. I don’t even want to think about how painful it would be to pay 3 Notability after bringing it up much higher. It’s like being punished for putting in the effort, isn’t it? Tax the rich!

[li]