Misunderstandings as a new (or not so new) Fallen Londonder

Discuss what you once believed or assumed, but later discovered to be wrong about lore and/or game mechanics. Or what you once ignored and didn’t find out until (much) later.

Me first: I once mistook Mrs Plenty for a Master. Before I saw her name, I had already found that most human characters are not referred to with their names, and that Masters are certainly non-human and have names like “Mr (a common noun)”. So “Mrs (a common adjective)” seemed quite likely to be another Master… :rofl:

10 Likes

I ignored opportunity cards completely until I was mid to late POSI. Like all of them. I had to do some much lower level stories once I acknowldeged the issue and raising connections was quite the bother since I was doing it at a point when I was “supposed” to be somewhat further along.

4 Likes

Back in the days when I started playing, I was thinking that FL is a multiplayer game. Because almost every browser game is. Why build it in on a single common server otherwise.

1 Like

Is Fallen London an MMORPG?
Well yes, but actually no (no?)

3 Likes

I took the existence of Hell entirely literally and avoided devils like the plague. Sometime around ‘Cricket anyone’ (so lik 4 years into playing) my brain suddenly clicked and went ‘Ohhh they’re bees!’

3 Likes

I mean, they’re bees who want to trade for your soul so the infernal explanation wasn’t totally unfounded :laughing:

3 Likes