A guide to raising connections

I’m starting a new thread for this, since the lead post in the last one hasn’t been updated in a year. I’ve tried to identify the best repeatable methods in London for experienced denizens of the Neath (main stats 100+) who’re not necessarily at the content boundary. I’ve included opportunity cards where they’re more effective than the available storylets.

If I’ve missed something, or you spot a mistake, please let me know and I’ll update the post. Also, I haven’t covered options at the University or creating works at Court, but I have the numbers for both written down somewhere. If people are interested in those I’ll add them.

This is my (almost) first post, so… hi everyone, I’m fairly new to the Neath but look forward to stabbing you all with grace and refinement, just as soon as I’ve settled in.

General ways to raise connections

The Carnival

If your connected is less than 10, you can spend two actions and a carnival ticket to gain 10-30 change points (hereafter ‘cp’), depending on the faction. This works for all factions other than Benthic and Summerset.

Factions I’ve checked:

• Constables: 30cp[/li][li]Criminals: 10cp (not capped at 10)[/li][li]Duchess: 20cp[/li][li]Hell: 30cp[/li][li]Orient: 30cp[/li][li]Revolutionaries: 20cp (takes three actions)[/li][li]Rubbery Men: 12cp

Connection items

Connection items can be bought at the Bazaar and used when you have connected 10-19 with a faction. This takes three actions and most (or all?) give 75cp in exchange for 150p worth of items.

They can be sold for 250/500p less than their purchase price, so may be worth buying one even if you only plan to use them a few times.

Exceptions:

• The Criminals connection item can only be used with connected less than 15;[/li][li]The Benthic/Summerset item can be used with connected 1; [/li][li]The Bohemians, Rubbery Men and Benthic/Summerset items all sell for 30 to 50 echoes less than their purchase prices.

Conflict cards