Weight

Ok, so I’m new to the game. Just did a big leap of faith and traveled the expanse that is the &quotUnterzee&quot and somehow survived by turning off my lights whenever I saw an enemy and just going around the long way. After finally making it back and limping back to Fallen London, I got a LOT of money for the port stops I made. My question.

What is weight? What does it do? I’ve read it has no effect on speed/fuel consumption so what is it?

It affects the acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle but not the maximum speed of it, makes things awkward if you’re continually getting in fights, but no other issues.

I’m pretty sure it does have an effect on speed. A heavy ship with a weak engine will never go faster than a crawl, while a heavy ship with a powerful engine will be quite fast. To quote my own tests from another thread…

[quote=Sir Frederick Tanah-Chook]RESULTS - from a standing start in Wolfstack Docks to the ship’s bow passing the southernmost point of the large rock south of Hunter’s Keep.

Eschatologue-Class Dreadnaught, Weight 5000.
With an Elderly Steeple-Engine, Power 800 - 48 seconds.
With a Caminus Yards &quotCompulsion&quot, Power 3500 - 27 seconds.

Lampad-Class Cutter, Weight 300
With an Elderly Steeple-Engine, Power 800 - 36 seconds.
With a Caminus Yards &quotCompulsion&quot, Power 3500 - 25 seconds[/quote]

The trick is that more powerful engines have poorer fuel efficiency. If you’re using a lightweight ship, you’ll get less benefit from a powerful engine, so you might want to run a smaller, more efficient one. On a heavy ship, you’ll lose so much time using a small engine that it practically isn’t an option - but, at least you’ll have the cargo space to store the extra fuel!