War of Illusions: Double Agents

I just arrived at what seems to be the end of my part in the War of Illusions in Mahogany Hall; I was a double agent and I planned to become connected with both Glass and Shroud at 20. I built up Shroud first, I didn’t sabotaged the Glass. Since when I decided to carry on the Shroud part the Glass options simply disappeared, and what’s worst, I really wanted to make to the Glass ending since I wanted to know about the Fingerkings, also because of the last Exceptional Story!

Is the Glass path definitely banned for me now? I feel like I thrown away one of the key secrets my character (and myself) should know, and I’m feeling pretty bad.

Unfortunately, you can’t get Connected for both factions up to 20. They’re diametrically opposed and, at a certain point, you have to pick a side.
If you’ve gotten to the point where you’ve sabotaged an illusion, then that’s the ball game. You’ve picked a side.

If you’ve not reached that point, then you still have an opportunity to sabotage a séance and choose Glass. You just have to go back and do the storylets all over again.

The unnerving thing is that I purposely picked the option that ignores the chance to sabotage the other faction! And since then all the bets seem off. And the game also points out that the one I chose is the path to AVOID sabotage. It’s maddening! …I’m honestly on the verge of tears, I apologize for the unneeded emphasis.

I suppose the choice to “ignore distractions” and skip over the sabotage part of the story could be more clearly worded: if it had said something like “abandon the idea of being a double agent: forget the Glass and focus solely on your work with the Shroud” I imagine you wouldn’t have picked it?

And if you were at the point where there were four such choices (sabotage the Glass, sabotage the Shroud, ignore the Glass and focus on the Shroud, ignore the Shroud and focus on the Glass) what would you have picked instead?

I totally agree.