Trying out high tier professions

I’ve been an Author for the longest time, initially to accumulate nights on the town (who knows what for!), and then simply out of sheer inertia. My true calling (for lack of a better term) is to be a Crooked Cross, but other high tier professions look interesting too, especially the Glassman.

How many of you veteran players have tried out all the high tier professions before settling on one? Is it worthwhile doing? Maybe I should ask a better question - do the different high tier professions unlock different options and storylets?

The main difference between the tier four professions is the rewards available (which for Doctors and Notaries is 10 echoes more). Most of the professions do have unique options but nothing too major. Glassmen have an Impossible! option to establish a Parabolan Base-Camp through Veilgarden honey-dens, but the text says it will not be available for a long time. Correspondents can be invited to entertain at an Orphanage and at Christmas can write a monograph in lacre for SotC gain on success. Monster-Hunters can capture Plated Seals without the dangerous challenge. Crooked-Crosses can be invited to entertain at a Salon. Midnighters can be invited to entertain at an Orphanage and being one eliminates the cost of one step of Ambition: Nemesis. Licentiates have no option listed on its wiki page.
edited by Optimatum on 1/6/2016

Thanks for that. From what I understand, it seems like I’ll need to resign, and then draw the corresponding faction card to start from the bottom. Does it cost notability to resign from a profession? I wonder because I lost notability when I closed my salon and later my orphanage.

There is no cost to resigning from your profession, and likewise no cost for advancing to the tier three and four professions other than a missed chance at a Surprise Package.