Trade Routes

I’m brand new to the game (steam). After dying a few times due to senseless zailing, I’ve decided to grind a known trade route. I’ve read some information on trade routes, but the info I’ve gotten seems outdated as it wasn’t accurate (recommended buying items at Venderbight to sell at FL, but there’s no option to buy anything other than supplies or fuel). The only sure-fire way of earning money I’ve found myself is taking the immigrants to Venderbight. I get 45 echoes for them, 10 echoes for &quotrecent news,&quot and another 10 echoes for the Venderbight report when I get back to FL. It takes ~ 3-4 barrels of fuel round-trip, so that’s a 30-40 echo expense. Does anyone have any other solid routes or methods?
edited by MrSt33le on 7/3/2014

Trade routes were changed in a very recent update, and will likely change again soon, so it’s difficult to say definitively for now! There is a small profit to be made buying wine in London and selling it at Venderbight, or, in the early stages of the game, Godfall to the south-east - but, as you rightly observe, there’s nothing to bring back from those places except for port reports for the Admiralty.

My favorite is wine to Godfall, swing around to Pigmote (don’t steal the star), kill sharks, then Khan’s heart, then Gaider’s mourn (kill corsairs), Port Cecil (Kill Sharks), Mt. Palmerston (fill up on cheap fuel), Port Cecil again, Iron and Misery co, Hunters Keep or Venderbright if the keep is dead, then FL.

you need to start out with ~13 Fuel and 105 Echoes for crate of 5 wines you go to Godfall with. Refuel at Palmerston, the echoes are worth it in the long run.
edited by nameless on 7/3/2014

Hmm. I stole the damn thing, basically because I can’t abide humanised rodents. :D Was that a mistake, are there some other worthwhile activities at Pigmote?
edited by SmallFish on 7/3/2014

Well, if you don’t steal the star, you get 1 free fuel every time you go there, and a port report.