Thoughts from a semi-new player

Hi, I’m pretty new to Sunless Sea (and these forums), but this is still an early access game so I thought I would give my thoughts after about twelve hours worth of play.

+The steaming feels really good. Just long enough to feel like the voyages have length, but not enough to get bored. The ship handles well, and the presentation (sight & sound) does a great job of selling the fiction. Great job Failbetter! (Spellcheck catches that funnily enough)

-Terror feels a little wonky. I tend to either keep it below thirty the whole game or drown in it. Also, it seems like terror is fairly harmless until reaching very high levels. I’ve felt the effects of hunger much more, and I’ve never died to it! Also, given that both are meters of bad things that kill you at max and go from one to a hundred, why are the hunger and terror bars different lengths?

+The writing is good, but I’m sure you already knew that. I mean, I bought this game off the strength of FL, so it would be very bad if it wasn’t as well written.

-I choose how people will refer to me, but no one ever seems to use that.

+I saw the transition to steel, and I can say that I certainly think it’s an improvement. It makes combat far less intrusive. Before every dinky crab required going into turn-based then lighting up and shooting. The new system both integrates the very good sailing and fights are both more exciting and shorter. It needs some fleshing out, but that’s to be expected.