The Constables Renown 40 item (Spoilers)

I’ve been playing Fallen London for a few years now and know pretty much all the lore so far, but the exact meaning of The Place Where They Buried the Bodies eludes me. The connotations of the name and the item text make it sound like there are earth shattering implications to be garnered. At first glance, it makes me think that a constable under orders murders someone, commits suicide, and makes sure they do not return to London while he does. The constables are certainly well known for their brutality, but what the Boatman says makes me think there is some great revelation I’m missing out on.

Do you have an echo from acquiring them? I either forgot or wasn’t able to make one when I got mine.

It’s not fate locked content so I’ll just copy paste it into the message behind spoiler tags.

[spoiler]On the row before you stands a pair of boots. No passenger sits near them. No passenger appears to have bare feet. The Boatman makes no remark on the boots. Indeed, he seems to be scrupulously ignoring their presence.

&quotWas it guilt? Boredom?&quot

A Well-Travelled Charlatan smiles at you wryly. &quotThe man who wore these always came with a companion. The gentleman did, however, always return to London alone. I reckon his job was to ensure they didn’t come back. And I suppose one day, he broke. He finished a game of chess with our skeletal host, took his boots off, and then he jumped.&quot
The Boatman pushes the boots toward you with his oar. &quotThey remember where the bodies are buried.&quot[/spoiler]

I think you’ve got the interpretation right, and it’s eerie as hell! Thank you for sharing with us criminals and lowlifes wot would never see it otherwise.