Sunless Sea - As a Merchant

I have … over 100 hours invested into the game at this point. It is fourth on my Steam list for most hours in a game, soon to ascend to third and it will probably get to second (150+ hours) before I get tired of it. For all the frustrations of dying, of desperate attempts to save myself as I run from Khanate ships … it is incredibly captivating both story-wise and gameplay-wise.

I got somewhat lucky in that at the point I started playing there was a couple easily repeatable ways to make a large amount of money (Salt’s Rites, which are considerably less valuable these days). After losing my first five captains, I had gained enough knowledge and got into a rhythm that allowed me to extract a lot of value out of the zee, and went on to write my Zong of the Zee and retire. My next captain I focused on getting the Horizon Codex book, and was sitting pretty happy with having a full 16 Heirlooms in my Zee-side mansion, and entering my next game with great stats and enough money to get a merchant vessel and good engines right out of the starting gate. I felt on top of the world.

That particular point of ascension corresponded with some content patches, and I exhibited far too much hubris. The game put me into my place however, draining me of my heirlooms as my first two captains died, and then I drove myself to frustration as three more captains went beneath the waves. The only trace of my earlier greatness was the things that were not lost in death - The Horizon Codex, my Scion legacy, and the Zee-side mansion that I very carefully made sure to preserve with an Iron Will as my very first course of action on each captain.