Struggling with new economy

I know I am new in the forums as I have been quietly reading them for about a month or so, but I wanted to know if anyone else feels this way.

I’ve been playing this game for about nine months and quite enjoying it. Now I’m not really enamored with this new “economic system” change. I’ve ground almost half of my turns away today trying to work out the math for just part of this system. That on top of that, this process now requires the continual joy of scrolling and scrolling and scrolling and scrolling through your inventory to transform your items.

This new monetary system seems to have become very cumbersome. Is it me or do you now have to really focus on whether you sell item to get devices to boost your stats or keep grinding to get stuff to convert other stuff to convert to other stuff to advance your story. There used to be items that didn’t have a lot of story impact so you could sell them and both purchase items AND advance the story.

What I find frustrating is having to spend my turns transforming items from one kind into another. This doesn’t make sense to me that we are being charged turns to transform items when the bazaar doesn’t charge you turns to purchase or sell anything. On top of that my rate of return is not constant when transforming items. With some items it is a “matter of luck” which affects the results. This can cause the ratio of tranformation to vary from a 20 to 1 ratio if you are unlucky to a 5 to 1 ratio if you are lucky.

This has seriously taken away a lot of the fun I was having in this game. Before if you had made it to person of some importance it wasn’t terribly difficult to find items to work to getting items for the Bazaar Side-streets. Now it feels very tedious to cobble items together to advance story items. This is requiring a lot of time and math to try and calculate my options for advancing my storyline options.