So, why are there so few watchful boots here?

Dig around the wiki for a while. Realized that there are only two watchful boot, one from advent calendar, the other from the &quotProtégé of a Mysterious Benefactor&quot story.

Which actually means that story is very imbalanced. You get a +2 shadowy hat, +2 dangerous weapon, +2 persuasive weapon, or +2 watchful boot from it. And You can get warm amber (+2 per weapon) almost instantly, shadowy and dangerous items are straightforward, but you have to wait for a year before getting another watchful boot?

Edit: I’m not complaining or anything, just curious.
edited by zbr308 on 9/2/2014

I’m new at this, but I wonder if equipment scaling may differ - and thus appear imbalanced to us just now - by design? There are also for example, quite few high level Persuasive &quotweapons&quot (is my drum such a weapon? laughs) in the bazaar I believe. I’m not sure about storyline drops.

But is it easier to pick up Watchful other ways? I’ve read some saying Persuasive simply isn’t a very fast track to pursue and I can’t say about that myself. I can say I’ve taken Watchful on more by and by, only equipped two or three items that support it… And already my Watchful is about half my Persuasive as I’ve just recently met the Barrister.

It can be possible to land a nice early very Watchful pet, too…
edited by Lavessa on 8/29/2014
edited by Lavessa on 8/29/2014

Come to think of it, my equipment bonus for Watchful has been higher than the one I had for Persuasive much of the time at these low levels. I had fewer Watchful things actually on me, but the ones I had seem to have added quite a lot.

The drum is the highest level persuasive weapon that isn’t from a profession as far as I know.

But yeah, the mysterious benefactor storyline’s rewards seem oddly unbalanced, because at the moment the boots never obsolete but everything else does very quickly.