So basically this is a $700 game?

I just started playing. Today I signed up to be an exceptional friend of the bazaar. There are about 79 story lines you can get with Fate about 3500 to 4000 Fate worth of story … 280 Fate for $50 yea so roughly a $700 game? Am I missing something here?

Those stories are optional and represent only a fraction of the game’s total content. The vast majority is free.

But don’t you think that is a little extreme to charge that much money for a game if people want to do as much as they can eventually?

Well, it is ten years of stories. You’re not intended to buy them all at once. There are several threads reviewing Fate-locked stories to help you decide which ones you might enjoy.

Dude, I would have griped the same thing years ago.

But I got by without forking out Fate for the Exceptional Stories, and now have several high-end characters.

You might want to avoid taking options that concern the Exceptional Stories though; you will be seeing those, and you might not find them pleasing.

P.S. If you got in now, then I would say that you got in at a good time. There are a lot of things that addressed problems that I had been peeved at (and you would be peeved about, if you were around back then).
edited by Rostygold on 7/3/2020

They didn’t always have this many, but they were having financial difficulties for a while, and changed to the ES model in an attempt to get people to subscribe, since people come here for stories and a story a month is a very nice pace. And it worked, they are in a much better financial position now. The number of fate locked stories may be excessive now, but it is better than the path they were going down before.

Awesome ! Thank you everyone for the replies. I love Sunless Sea and Sunless Sky and am enjoying Fallen London so far ! I just wanted to see what was going on with the pricing.