Raise one quality or all of them?

Hello, delicious friends,
I’m new to the game and, even though I know this is not a min-max sort of game, a question still bothers me - is it better to stick to one (or two) qualities or raise them all equally? I’m currently going down the watchful/persuasive path, but I want to see what the other parts of the city have to offer. I’m worried that I might miss out on content if I try to do everything at once!
edited by Ed Schultz on 6/19/2014

I don’t think there’s anything that’s locked out because you have too high in a combination of the four major stats, so I wouldn’t worry about it–do as you like.

I found that I pursued one path, then eventually decided to explore/needed to go elsewhere, and had to raise others. Generally they even out over time, but with a weighting in one direction. (Which doesn’t matter.)

Just do what you enjoy most, you will eventually max them all anyways.

If you stay in one area and only do things in that area while also playing the opportunity cards, you may end up raising your other basic qualities while raising your main quality. And then when you go to the other areas you may have too high qualities for the very first storylets. When I realised that’s how it was, I could still use a Talkative Rattus Faber to lower my qualities enough, but it sure was a hassle, as it created a ‘blind spot’ where my regular basic quality was too high, and with the -25 from the rat it was too low, even when adding bonuses from other equipment.

Then again, they may have changed a lot of stuff since I started.