Midnighter or Crooked-Cross?

I recently started playing Fallen London and decided to investigate the professions I could have. Both midnighter and crooked-cross interest me from a roleplay point of view (plus the rewards are quite nice) but I’m torn as they are both tier 3 jobs that require me to start from either trickster or watcher so I wanted to ask to those who have or have had these professions: what were your experiences with them? Were they fun and/or worth it?

The professions don’t add a lot of content–they’re mainly for roleplaying purposes, and their primary benefit is the unique equipment. (Pretty much, the only different flavor text you’ll see is when you collect your weekly payment or upgrade your profession.) So I would advise choosing based on which suits your character better. Is your character deeply entrenched in the Great Game, or are they more wrapped up in the intrigues between the Church and Hell? Are they more spy or confidence trickster?

On the mechanical side, a lot of people favor the Home Comfort that comes with Midnighter, but either way the bonuses over other best-in-slot items are pretty negligible. Crooked-Crosses also have the opportunity to speak at other players’ salons to gain Making Waves, if that interests you.

Profession choice mostly comes down to personal preference. Like you say, it’s mostly a roleplaying choice. It’s definitely worth it to go for one of the tier 3 jobs, though–the weekly rewards are all high value items, and the unique equipments give excellent stat boosts.