Max Stats Equal Half the Content

OK, the title may have been a bit of a exaggeration, but it hits the crux of my point. I’ve been playing Fallen London for a few years now and have become deeply engrossed in the lore and storytelling that comes with the setting. The writers are some of the best I’ve ever seen in any form of medium by flawlessly combining hilarious, awesome, heartwarming, tearjerking, and horrifying text and dialogue to make a game fundamentally without gameplay worth a monthly subscription just to ensure I can consume everything new released.

As a long term player, I have hit the content boundary on pretty much ever available story and have proudly reached 200 in every stat, BUT this hits the major issue that has been nagging at me for a long time. As a max stated player, I am almost always guaranteed to succeed at every skill check in the game currently, especially in newly released content. This, of course, seems like it should be working as intended, after all I shouldn’t ever fail if my character is just that awesome. Unfortunately, much to Failbetter’s credit and my consternation, much of the funniest, wittiest, and downright memorable text in the game comes from failing the skill checks.