Looking for the Storm-bird (and skulls)

Can anyone advise me on how to start looking for the Storm-bird since I need one for research and seem to require a sighting to begin with.

And I find myself in need of Skulls (and other bits) for my construction of skeletons.

Much obliged.

DW–

Go mad in Parabola. This is slightly easier with Menace-modifying equipment.

What content does your character have access to? Obviously the lab, Parabola, and the Bone Market, but have you built any railway? The availability of bones goes up significantly after you reach the Upper River. Before then, Bright Brass Skulls (from the Bazaar) are not terrible. They basically let you turn echoes into Skeleton Value. They’re expensive, but efficient at converting resources you have to resources you don’t.

Thank you, one attempt to go mad in Parabola coming up. Yes, I am in the lab and three stations of the railway built. Much obliged…

I’m quite new at it, butt to begin with I’ve been digging up horned skulls on Bullbone Island. You can get quite a few if you have a lot of Surveys of the Neath’s Bones. I think I got four or maybe five on one trip.

Edit: Hehe, Butt! Actually, I’m going to leave that unedited because it appeals to my juvenile sense of humour.
edited by Plynkes on 11/30/2020

Storm-bird sightings are available when you hit NM 8 in Parabola. It resets nightmares to 7, but with equipped NM gear you can loop it infinitely until you remove the gear.

You can grind sightings up to 15, which will lower the challenge level later, but it will nuke your Glasswork and Monstrosity (current, not maximum levels). Glasswork can be ground back in the Dome of Scales (bring a ton of goldfish), Monstrosity - while fighting your prey, like the STorm-bird.
edited by Aro Saren on 11/30/2020