How much to spend and assorted questions

Having discovered this game a week ago I quickly fell in love. But alas, as all free-to-play games are, a more serious investment is highly recommended for serious players. So I got a subscription and bought 45 fate… $17 spent in total. I’ve already used up all my fate, and now I find myself wondering… Is this game worth succumbing to an addiction to it?

I mean, I love this game so far. But I don’t have a job right now, so money’s tight. As I debate buying more fate, I find myself highly tempted by the Rubbery Murders story option thing (I have an inexplicable fondness for those squishy b-stards). Do I go for it? (My stats are all in the low 20’s.)

Also, how do you manage your actions? When I first come online I end up spending all forty actions within half an hour, and I struggle to acquire enough actions to have a decent session (which for me is like ten minutes) without spending fate for the rest of the day.

First of all, welcome! I hope you enjoy your time here.

In terms of Fate stories, well, the Rubbery Murders wouldn’t be my first priority. It’s a cool little story, but it doesn’t have much long-term impact - once it’s over, it’s over. That would be one I’d keep up my sleeve for later, you know. For a story that’s valuable at low levels and pretty much stays valuable throughout the game, with lost of ties to other content, I’d go for The Trade in Souls.

As for managing actions… that is the trouble with having a lot of free time, and wanting more Fallen London, more, more! All I can suggest is that you find something else to do for a couple of hours and let a decent bank of cards and actions build up.

If you still want some fate locked rubbery man content,you can get flute street later (possibly much later).