Can't get 'Recruiting friend via Twitter' to work

I would appreciate a list of the steps I need to take. I am fairly new to Fallen London and completely new to Twitter. Here’s what I’ve done so far:

1. Registered on fallenlondon.com
  2. Played a while
  3. Talked to my friend (face to face) and got her interested in the game
  4. Created a Twitter account
  5. Linked my FL account to my newly created Twitter account
  6. Asked my friend to create a Twitter account, but not to register at Fallen London (since the page promises me a gift if I am the one to recruit her)
  7. I get an email she’s regged, and I follow her on Twitter. This is - as far as I understand - what I need to do even though the Fallen London page talks about “friends” (which there are no notion of at Twitter)
  8. Clicks the “Friends” tab and clicks the big blue button to “Invite Twitter friends” (again, I scoured the Twitter help pages with no way to actually “befriend” someone)
  9. A popup window comes up with a box for the greetings text. But there are no mention of my (only) followee (or “friend” or whatchucallit), only a fat red number one in the bottom right corner. If I just click “Invite” there’s an error “You didn’t invite anyone”.

What am I doing wrong?! /Zapp

PS. That was yesterday. Today I visited my Lodgings and selected “Invite friend to something terribly intellectual” in an attempt to make the game contact my friend anyways. Here I could choose among all the ones I follow!! But I couldn’t get the game to make “an automated tweet” (the web page just hung for minutes before I closed it down).

At this point I copied the invite text (along with the web link) for my selected friend’s Twitter account and twittered it myself, but that was quite recently, and I do not know if it works or not. Anyway, even if it works, what kind of gift am I missing out on (assuming you need to go the friends tab route to actually get such a gift)?