Can someone grant a new Zailor some tips?

Greeting.

While I am no novice to the la d of Fallen London, The Zee, and in general computerized gaming, is a entirely new and diffeent and slightly unconfortable to handle beast to me. I have already lost a Captain to the depths by making the idiotic mistake of selling my ship for a worse ship, leaving me with few suppllies and fewer crew. I was however (SOMEHOW) able to avoid The Admiralty and suplly a cargo to some devils beforehand, but I expect this to be a fluke (core) rather then skill.

In short, I have no idea what I am doing, find my boat and crew hard to control due to unfamiliarity with the beast, the tutorial was not all that helpful to me, I’ve kept the book since that proviced some aid, and I fear my one small feat of luck was just that. Also, while it says not to fear death, I do indeed do so due to lack of things I can do when die like Legacies and the like.

In short, any advice and providence from more experienced Zee Captains in aiding a less knowlegable Zailer would be apreciated.

My advice: save your game, regularly. Leave no-save runs for once you’re more familiar with the mechanics of the game.

Collect port reports. They’re the best source of both echoes and and precious, precious fuel. I’d also recommend getting at least a townhouse as soon as possible for a will and a place to raise a child. The next, best thing to do early in-game is deliver sphinxstone, though I add a caveat to that, since the final delivery can be tricky, depending on your past and who you favor. One of my early captains spent ages with stupid sphinxstone sitting in her cargo hold as I tried to figure out where Irem was/is/will be.