Absolute beginner with questions

Hi, not only am I new to Fallen London, but I haven’t really played this kind of game at all. I briefly played Mafia Wars on FB before I got tired of needing to be &quotfriends&quot with so many people just to advance in the game. It is beginning to look like I will need to interact with other actual players of Fallen London - not just the characters in the game - to progress. Is that true? Or can I keep poodling along and making progress slowly without inviting other players to activities?

If I do have to interact, is it the kind of thing where I will eventually need to work with a large number of other players, or can I have just a handful I interact with?

Thanks,
Stirling

The only things you really need to interact with people for are : hallowmas (currently being redone, so who knows if that’ll apply when it comes back), knife and candle (on hiatus), and a tournament of lilies.
You can get through them without a large group, but a large group would likely make it easier or the result better.
edited by suinicide on 6/1/2016

I’ve played for almost two years without interacting with others. You can advance through about all the content, except for the couple of events Suinicide mentioned. Interaction is a fun addition, not a requirement.

Interactions with other players can be profitable and fun, but generally speaking, it’s not the core of the game. The core is mostly the single-player parts. If you’re drawing cards in your lodgings, there is a profitable card of social actions that gives a substantial sum of items’ worth of money to both sender and recipient- (the worst option is the still good 111 whispered secrets, the best is 200 cryptic clues.)- so if you don’t want social actions, get in the habit of drawing cards somewhere else