A tale of near misses

I’m new to the joys of the Sunless Seas but familiar with its recurrent theme of disappointments and a carpricious RNG from Fallen London.

I had a beautifully charmed and cursed run to pursue the dark delights of my sigelled crew. All the tests succeeded and I was rewarded with more tantalising glimpses of madness and horror from the Chapel of Lights to Frost Found only to lose it all in an embarrassingly avoidable death by life berg when the game read my frenzied button press on full speed ahead for a needless repair!

Now my new captain can’t get a break on a 76% chance of success Pages test at the Chapel of Lights!

You hit R instead of F and the Lifeberg sunk you?
You do know that repairs can be cancelled and can only happen if the Hull is above 50%.

And you can probably ditch a Lifeberg by turning off your lights and getting away at top speed… unless it’s already charging at you.
edited by stylesrj on 4/3/2017

[quote=Marsha Glade]You hit R instead of F and the Lifeberg sunk you?
You do know that repairs can be cancelled and can only happen if the Hull is above 50%.

And you can probably ditch a Lifeberg by turning off your lights and getting away at top speed… unless it’s already charging at you.
edited by stylesrj on 4/3/2017[/quote]

The damned thing had me cornered. I’m playing on iPad so it was a proximity problem rather than a miss-key! Part of the problem was navigating in the dark got me stuck in an island’s nook so there was little chance to swing round and speed out.

I have now managed to retrace my steps (and studiously avoid Mt Nomad) and have the dubious honour of progressing a most unsavoury story line.

I wish there was more warning about when decisions will result in more cargo though, I’m having to dump so much. Need a bigger boat!

A side note, are lifebergs plated seals? They have the same image.

Nope. Lifebergs are b___dy icebergs that are alive (hate them so much).