A proposed discussion of balance: London Suspicion

Hello,

I’ve been playing Sunless Sea since a couple months after the Kickstarter, and recently took a little time off to delve into Fallen London as well.

Firstly, I admire the use of a unique menace to curb sunlight farming. I still smuggle sunlight, but it’s no longer a viable long-term income source - more of a gig. You can take one or two dozen boxes and make enough money to upgrade your lodgings, or a ship, if you’re careful and well-prepared. The experience, however, will make your zee-captain a sunlight addict who can’t be trusted to handle the product. The simplest course forward is to stop after too much of a good thing, and quit while you’re ahead. If they stay at zee for a VERY LONG time, they may recover and gradually regain their tolerance - which diminishes with exposure, rather than increasing. Such seems to be the nature of nostalgia, and perhaps why the product is so regulated in the Neath.

Red Honey, however, is still badly imbalanced compared to everything else. The Brass Embassy markup allows a mid-three figure return per vial, and the only necessary adversities are:

[ul][li]A port inspection which can be avoided by expending one’s &quotA Story Awaits&quot quality
[/li][li]Having to wait for that quality in order to purchase the product[/li][/ul]Accruing huge London suspicion menaces when taking large shipments

While a high Suspicion seems fitting for a Honey smuggler, it’s perfectly viable to wander the zee with 100 suspicion.

Such a character should rightly be able to exist - a zee-bound version of the Cheery Man, for example, would also struggle to perform transactions on his own behalf - but it seems implausible that being a criminal involves so few serious punishments.

Some proposals: