A few questions regarding subscription and Fate

Hello,

I started playing the game 3 days ago. I don’t like the very slow pace the story is played and how most of the missions, including many bronze ones, are repetitive farming that doesn’t advance the story. So I’m considering buying Fate/sub.

Sub costs $7 for a second candle, but it’s pointless since action recharge rate is the same and I’m online for most of the day so I have no use for a second candle. Also, it doesn’t give monthly Fate which makes subbing quite useless aside from the free monthly story. Am I missing something here?

45 Fate costs $10 which is around the same as subscription for games like Final Fantasy XIV or WoW. Since I really like Fallen London (even bought Sunless Sea) I can buy 45 Fate per month. So, my next question is:

Can you list interesting, lore-rich missions I can buy monthly for 45 Fate? You can post them in a descending manner from the most interesting to the least.

Thank you!

Subbing is mostly for the monthly story, though it does mean you can get any annoying grinds out of the way after you sleep. (Also there is a chance for 2 fate every month, but that’s incidental)

Stories for fate:

1. Lost in Reflections
  2. The gift
    3: Secrets framed in Gold
    4: The Waltz that moved the world
    5: A trade in faces (Though this one is slow paced)
    6: Art of Murder
    7: The pentecost Predicament
    If you are willing to save some fate: Flint, which is about the size of an ambition, but costs over 100.

Ones I left off the list (AKA not my favorite, but important lore)

The last dog society
A trade in souls
Flute Street
Foreign office (Fate locked section)
Labyrinth of tigers (Fate locked section)
A temple of utmost wind

Edit: This thread can be useful for more opinions: http://community.failbettergames.com/topic87-fatelocked-content.aspx?Page=97
edited by suinicide on 9/12/2016
edited by suinicide on 9/12/2016