A few questions from a new FL player

Hello everyone

So, I’m new to Fallen London, and while the game is interesting (very much so), I find myself somewhat blocked by having only one acquaintance (the person who introduced me to the game), so I wanted to ask if anyone knew how to get new acquaintances? I imagine it would be awkward to simply open a thread and ask for it, and I don’t know of any in-game methods of getting into contact with people (aside from sending them the Calling Card).

And since I’m a blatant noob, and haven’t looked much into the forums yet, is there any code of conduct aside from the usual &quotDon’t be a dick&quot rules? Is it expected to stay in character, or…?

I’m hoping someone can help me with my predicaments.

Thank you in advance ^^

By staying in character(role playing) you can easily drop off a calling card to someone, I don’t think anyone would really mind getting more acquaintances and people to roleplay with.

And how big of a chance is there for me to get bitten in the butt by doing that? I have noticed the &quotSnub and Acquaintance&quot and &quotPoison an acquaintance&quot options. I’d rather not open myself up to get screwed over.

That still leaves on issue at large. I could just send a calling card to someone, but if I am to stay in character I’d have to have a reason beyond &quotYour name popped up when I clicked ‘add random’&quot.

You’re free to be as in or out of character as you feel comfortable with. Though if your character is a bit prickly you may want to send an OOC invite first, or at least preface it with a note so they know you’re just RPing.

I imagine my character headstrong, so probably not prickly or annoying… I hope. Thanks for the reply, though :)

I’ve received calling cards before and deemed them “part of business” to keep it IC. But outside of that just message people or message others here if you want to roleplay. Never know what could happen and it couldn’t hurt to simply ask.