Which factions to befriend?

Hello everyone,

After a few months in the Neath, I have to admit that I’m a bit clueless when it comes to Connections. I’ve just been enjoying poking around and exploring the storylines. I’m not much of a strategist and I haven’t worked out what my long-term goals are; mainly for this reason, I’m reluctant to sacrifice a Connection with one faction in favour of another and end up making costly mistakes or eliminating opportunities that I might want to have available to me down the line.

I am an Author and recently became a POSI; I generally enjoy Persuasive and Watchful challenges the most. I like to think of myself as subversive and potentially revolutionary, but I also enjoy hobnobbing with the cream of society at court. I have a strange fondness for Rubbery Men and I was very proud of being on excellent terms with devils until I failed (twice!) at robbing the Brass Embassy and was thrown out on my ear.

Currently my Connections are as follows:

[ul][li]Great Game 8[/li][li]Church 13[/li][li]Tomb-Colonies 12[/li][li]The Widow 21 [/li][li]Rubbery Men 43[/li][li]The Duchess 16 [/li][li]Benthic 3
[/li][li]Somerset 13[/li][li]Shroud 20 [/li][li]Bohemians 34[/li][li]Urchins 25[/li][li]Hell 17[/li][li]Docks 13[/li][li]Revolutionaries 13[/li][li]Constables 29 [/li][li]Society 50[/li][/ul]
Which friendships would you advise me to cultivate? In your opinion, which Connections are the most helpful or unlock the most interesting storylines?

The one faction you don’t have on your list: Criminals.
The Implacable Presence card offers a very good exchange rate and getting connections in The Flit is a great way to build up your Shadowy stat.

I used to have Connected: Criminals around 12 but lost it all when I devised a method for detecting counterfeit echoes… and my Connected: The Docks would also be higher if I hadn’t foolishly cashed it in for expedition supplies.