Thoughts on the Speed of Progress

I have some thoughts on the current speed of progress in the game. To explain where I’m coming from, allow me to share a bit of my background. (Sorry for the length of this – you can skip to the TL;DR part at the end if you wish.)

When I started playing Fallen London (Echo Bazaar at the time), it was fairly new. You had to use a Twitter or Facebook account to sign up. There was plenty of content through level 40 in the main traits, and some content up to 60. Once you hit 60, there was basically nothing to do.

But this wasn’t a problem, really, because it took ages to make it that far. I spent months getting up around 40, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Some of it was a little grindy, which wasn’t the most fun thing, but there were enough interesting stories to keep it from getting too boring.

Around level 40 I started to lose interest. The grindy parts had gotten too grindy, and I knew there wasn’t much content waiting for me if I continued. So I sort of forgot about it.

Then a couple of months ago, I was reminded of the game and went back to it to find it loaded with tons more content. I discovered that I had a job now, which each week would kick my Persuasive up quite a few levels. I saw the “person of importance” possibilities and was pleased that there was so much more for me to do.