Thoughts on Exceptional Friendship

I have been considering signing up - I’ve been playing for three months, and while one can never tell if they’ll be around long enough to become the proprietor of a flask of cider, I am interested in reading everything I can of the game - which suggests I’ll be around for a long, long time.

I’ve put it off, partially because I’m in jobhunting IRL and partially because some of the Fate prompts for achieving PoSI status were NOT to my taste. The idea of buying recognition on Watchmaker’s Hill struck me as cowardly, and even making the job easier with other benefits felt like a cop-out. My jailbird started with rags and shackles, and I wanted his turning the corner to be entirely on his own merits.

Now that he’s got most of his non-Fate locked secondary items of choice, double-digit BDR with most subsequent BDR gains requiring a focus on Echoes, he has begun counting the days, and even is slightly Notable, it doesn’t feel wrong for him to contribute to the welfare of the Neath and be seen as a friend. He hasn’t left London, but that’s for RP reasons - his goals are very close to home, as are his enemies.

Is there anything people wish they knew BEFORE they took the plunge and became a Friend?
edited by Gerald Edgerton on 7/22/2015
edited by Gerald Edgerton on 7/22/2015

I’ve been playing for slightly more than three months, but that gives me the opposite idea: why sign when there is still so much unexplored content? Maybe one day when I have turned every stone and bored and out of new stories.

I’ve been playing for about 12 months at the moment, and am on my first month of Exceptional Friendship.
What I find it useful for is, even if you don’t intend to complete them immediately, starting the Monthly stories so you can come back to them later without a Fate purchase; but more importantly the increased action pool means I have larger gaps between when I play.