The Fallen London community is Bizarre.

Now lemme preface this, of course, with my saying that Bizarre is in no way a bad thing. I mean, for one, it lets you get notability easier, which is always a plus.

But It is most definitely unusual.

I have been here for…well, somewhere around…well I started playing in late April at some point if I recall, so it’s just a tad shy of four months.

And since then I have lurked and occasionally participated in various community engagements, on and off.

And I have witnessed…well, some peculiar things. Most notably the way the community kind of…revolves?

I would be willing to wager Fallen London’s community is one of the most stable I have ever encountered. Many, if not the majority of the people I see here have been playing this game, and participating in this community for what may as well be eons. They’ve carved out a nook in this, and many other community based websites and they’re bunkered down for the long haul.

Because of this, there also seems to be a lot of…recgonition. Many of you have accomplished your own desired feats, shared content and have participated various forms of hijinks, and many of the other people, who similarly have been here long enough to witness it, remember the fact. There is an enormous amount of familiarity, and in some cases, a players actions will be so extensive, that they will reach near celebrity status. (The big players in the Eaten content sit quite happily in this basket) And not only will many players recognize them, but it will be expected that if their name is mentioned, others will recognize it in turn. The mods, admins and even game developers also seem to join in, with similar levels of familiarity, to the point where traditions developed to send rats en mass to Alexis for the explicit purpose of &quotslightly bothering him&quot.