The Clay Man Conundrum

I’ve been scribbling along for a couple months, trying to wrap up a rather torrid self-insert/Pirate-Poet fanfiction and because of the Poet’s occupation and stance on the issue of Clay Men, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about it myself. So I’m throwing it out to everyone to discuss because I’m curious. Do you believe Clay Man labor is moral? They are sentient automatons, created in Polythreme by the King with a Hundred Hearts, so in theory their autonomy would not belong to themselves. But then again, wouldn’t this stance fall apart when compared to child rearing? Do children belong to their parents, bowing to their every want and whim? I understand that Clay Men are paid as a tithe to London, and that the ‘Unfinished’ ones are more likely to be the ones with a higher developed sense of self and emotions. The Pirate-Poet is not Unfinished but instead ‘wrote herself free,’ or somehow broke that agreement with her writing. It’s sort of unclear. What would also be interesting would be bringing the race card into it, and comparing the issue with American slavery. That might be a bit overboard.

In any case, I’d like to hear your thoughts! If I’ve said anything wrong, please let me know!

Well, I think you will find arguments for and against, based on the lore. But the thing is…
the way they are written, it does seem that their position is an unfair one. There is an air of melancholy around them, of wrongness concerning their labours, even when they themselves work without rxactly protesting.
It might wll be that we project, from our own history. But I think the nagging sense that they should not be here, is entrenched in the narrative.
edited by Jolanda Swan on 11/14/2018

I think they’re like children, honestly. They haven’t really had a life other than working. I think they can learn to think for themselves (judging by Lyme).