Salon or Orphanage?

So! I have the Tower of Eyes, and almost all the Connections needed for the Salon, and plenty of money to get an Orphanage. So… which should I get? Can any clever soul lay out the pros and cons of either choice?[li]

I haven’t explored every option, but the major difference I’ve encountered so far is that you spend Connections and high-level Items to advance a Salon, at a rapid if unpredictable rate, while you spend Echoes and low-to-mid-level Items to advance an Orphanage, at a slow, predictable rate. I haven’t quantified their ultimate rewards, but they appear to be comparable so far.

Meanwhile, having been at Notability 4 for several days I still have not seen that profession card…

After reading all the above, I’m still having trouble deciding between a salon or orphanage. I understand the former saps connections and the latter saps money. But I don’t have a sense of how much.

I am not good at grinding connections, but I also rarely spend them, so these are my current values:
Bohemian 87
The Great Game 36
Hell 41
The Tomb-Colonies 27
The Widow 25
The Masters of the Bazaar 5
The Duchess 20
Benthic 26
Summerset 26
Criminals 39
Urchins 21
The Church 33
The Docks 41
Revolutionaries 38
Constables 41
Society 83

Money-wise, I have about:
Glim 20000
Jade Fragment 10000
Moon-Pearl 40000
Nevercold Brass Sliver 40000
Rostygold 10000

My Persuasive is at 200 so I’m pretty good at grinding in Mahogany Hall. (Watchful 158, Shadowy 165, Dangerous 128)

Which path would you recommend for me?

Most of the &quotFailbetter Theorycraft&quot blogs I’ve seen recommend a Salon… like overwhelmingly. The only reason to get an orphanage I’ve seen stated in theorycraft is that you can grind it all the way up to get the best (Fate-locked) pet in the game, then ditch it for the salon you ACTUALLY want long term.