Regarding the Fidgeting Writer

Hello,

I’ve been tracking the Fidgeting Writer, and just hit this point int he story

http://fallenlondon.wikia.com/wiki/Visit_him_regularly_and_ask_the_Manager_about_his_stay

I was unlucky, losing my room number at the royal berth.

Does my trail of the fidgeting writer simply end here? Or is there a way to pick it backup? I’m still learning how the game works, but I’m hoping the RNG doesn’t simply block you out of storylines.

Cheers,
Amorphist

Just start over. It’s fine.

Thanks, Chum!

the fidgetting writer storyline is a long series of coin flips, and if any of them land tails, bad things happen, and you need to start over. as far as i am aware, there are few, if any, storylines in which you can lock yourself out of them permanantly on a failure. most of the time, you just lose progress on a failure.
edited by Grenem on 4/9/2015

The easiest way to get through the Fidgeting Writer storyline without getting frustrated with the losses is to stack a bunch of them. It’s easier to deal with a few losses when there are some successes to balance it out.

That’s what they said about the invasion of '68, you know. :(

(I just finished another FW run. Started with 100 Tales, ended with 0 Souls to show for it. Somehow it doesn’t feel less frustrating)

That’s what they said about the invasion of '68, you know. :(

(I just finished another FW run. Started with 100 Tales, ended with 0 Souls to show for it. Somehow it doesn’t feel less frustrating)[/quote]

That’s pretty unlucky though. You should be getting several per batch of 100 on average.

When I did it last for an Impossible Theorem I progressed in batches of 50. I wouldn’t move on from 1 stage until I had 50 of that stage. It took a while, definitely, but it kept me from noticing the bad runs of luck because every little success was getting me closer to my goal.