Places to Roleplay?

Pretty much the title. I’ve been playing Fallen London for almost a year, now, and from the moment I started playing I longed to roleplay in its setting with the characters I created. Trouble is, err, I’m pretty easily cowed and put off when trying to interact with people I don’t really know.

Umm, so, does anyone know where to roleplay? I know of the fallen-london livejournal, and read it every once in a while, but I do not know how to join the community, exactly, as it is, as far as I can see, a place to log such interactions (and honestly, livejournal confuses me and always has), but no where else. I guess that I could roleplay within the game itself, in which case I’d be happy to send a few cards to anyone interested. I’m not endgame or anything, not even a Person of Some Importance on any of my characters (mostly because I’d rather farm Stolen Correspondence 16 at a time until I get 10,000 than grind up my Shadowy and Dangerous, apparently), but I’ll try my best…so, yes. I hope I didn’t come across as too clueless.

It really depends what kind of roleplaying you’re looking for…

1. In my experience, in-game roleplaying is kind of limited to sending clever bits of fanfiction/headcanon wrapped around social invites–you can kind of maintain a conversation over a series of letters or by sending the same type of invitation back and forth repeatedly, but it’s very high-level. It’s actually a lot like building relationships with NPCs within the game, except you are collaboratively creating the content. It’s fun! But not quite roleplay as I am used to. Obviously if you’re RPing together somewhere else, in-game interactions will probably reflect those conversations.