New Player.. What Should I Do With All This Stuff?

Figured I ask another question while I’m here…

Enjoying the game, but my major issue so far is trying to decide what to do with the myriad number of items I keep accumulating. Obviously, I imagine it depends on each individual item and my current circumstance, but (as far as I can tell) it essentially breaks down to either selling them to the Bazzar (sp?), or (for items I can use) waiting until I have a sufficient amount to satisfy the requirement to use them in some fashion (which seems for the most part to convert those items for more advanced items). Money (at least at first) seems pretty hard to come by, so outright selling them is obviously useful, but I have sneaking suspicion it’s better to hold on to them for their various uses. So, generally speaking, should I be selling the majority of the items I acquire, or is it better to keep them? Thanks.

Only sell them if you need to buy something. Keep them. Cling to them if your very life depends on it. And you will still want that you had more when the situation calls for it.

Money is overrated. Unless you want a goat or a cider.

[quote=Professor Strix]Only sell them if you need to buy something. Keep them. Cling to them if your very life depends on it. And you will still want that you had more when the situation calls for it.

Money is overrated. Unless you want a goat or a cider.[/quote]

Of course, most players want a goat and/or a Hesperidean Cider eventually.
That being said, I agree with the good Professor’s recommendation. You will want to acquire various items over time (e.g., different Lodgings), and the common commodities you are getting now will in many cases be things you will need, or at least be able to use, to pay for them. My packrat tendencies and the length of time I’ve been playing are among the reasons I have so much stuff today.