How StoryNexus will work

[color=#009900]This is an open thread for questions about how StoryNexus will work, and why. We don’t promise to answer everything, but ask away…[/color]
edited by Alexis Kennedy on 7/24/2012

So is it like a game engine for choose your own adventure type stories?

[color=#009900]It’s a platform for making games on the storylet model - more like Fallen London than CYOA.

Anyone looking for a CYOA resource would probably be better off with (eg) Varytale, inklewriter or Choice of Games: although you can make CYOA-esque games with the storylet model too, as the Iron Republic demonstrated.[/color]
edited by Alexis Kennedy on 5/30/2012

Being a hobbyist game developer, I am rather interested in your business model. As in - will there be a fee for using the platform? Is the platform itself going to be free (or financed by advertising), but with certain ‘premium features’ (such as subscription/Fate-locked storylets - or ability to have more than, say, 100 users) only available to paying customers? Are you going to ask for a little bite of the Fate transactions that happen within the games created using / hosted on StoryNexus? Or is it going to be something entirely different?

What features does StoryNexus include for analytics, ratings and players to communicate with the creators?

How is version control and content management handled within SN?

[color=#009900]Cost of building: The platform will be free to use. (We might charge an admin fee for things that require manual intervention on our part, but to discourage frivolous use, not because we expect to make money on it.)[/color]
[color=#009900]
[/color]
[color=#009900]Revenue: we’ll take a cut of Fate spend in creator games. We are still considering limiting Fate charging to trusted/verified creators, although we’ll add a tip jar throughout.[/color]

[color=#009900]Content management: the same tools we’ve been using for FL, with a facelift and an upgrade.[/color]
[color=#009900]