Help with lodgings

[color=rgb(194, 194, 194)]Hi everyone,[/color]
[color=rgb(194, 194, 194)]
[/color]
[color=rgb(194, 194, 194)]My apologies if I am posting this in the wrong place. I am a beginner and fairly new to Fallen London, and am having some difficulties I was hoping you could help me with. After playing for a while, and still being unable to find any lodgings, I decided to look up a few walkthroughs. In all of them, the players received some sort of diamond right after fleeing prison. However, I never received any diamond, and am therefore very short of money. Also, when clicking on &quotFind somewhere to live!&quot the only option available to me is to charm a widow - which I can’t seem to do without much persuasion points. In the walkthroughs, however, the players seem to be offered a variety of options on how to acquire lodgings. [/color]
[/color]
[color=rgb(194, 194, 194)]Is any of this simply the results of my previous choices? Or it it a bug of some sort?[/color]
[/color]
[color=rgb(194, 194, 194)]I would very much appreciate any helps. Many thanks in advance![/color]

When the diamond appears is basically up to the RNG, so don’t worry it will appear. Just keep checking your cards (or sometimes tab if you use the app)
And the other options for a house appear when you have 50 whispered hints or 60 rostygold. For now you can keep trying the pursuasive challenge, it doesn’t hurt to fail.
And welcome to London!

Ah, apparently I need a bit more patience! Thank you for your kind reply :)

A Warning: avoid the rooms above a bookshop at all costs.

If you end up playing this game for the long haul, you will come to resent these lodgings more than you can possibly imagine now.

While I’m at it – never romance a struggling artist, and never accept a gift from a mysterious benefactor. You will thank me later :)

[quote=Dr Cop]A Warning: avoid the rooms above a bookshop at all costs.