Guidelines questions

Greetings, I am very new to StoryNexus (although not to creating text adventures, RPG scenarios and user content for games in general) and I am seeking advice and clarification from more experienced creators and possibly FBG.

First of all, my apologies I have a fair number of questions which would mean fair amount of reading, and I suspect (as well as hope and dread) fair amount of responses and opinions. Because of this I would like to create a number of threads, each dealing with specific issue. I apologize therefore for cluttering the forums.

Now, I’ve read the guidelines of course, nothing truly surprising there and similar to the guidelines you find with many other content creation platforms. However there is always room for an interpretation (and for creative freedom) so I find it pays to check on some fine details.

My first question is about ownership of content and fan-fiction. Once again I am not unfamiliar with the concepts but in different places I’ve received different answers to the sample scenarios so here are some example of “using others work” and I’d like to know if it might be allowed in the StoryNexus.

Recreating… say d’Artagnan’s famous trip to London to retrieve queen’s diamonds. Naturally the storylets text will be my own (no cutting and pasting from Three Musketeers ;) ), the sequence of events might change, new encounters will be added, elements from numerous movie versions of the events might be used, perhaps even time and place will change (say replacing the 17th century trip from Paris to London with… say 25th century one from Earth to Planet X). In short you can say that story will be my own, but clearly based on the Dumas work.