Freed from the Name

Yoooo even though I’m an avid writer I haven’t really gotten into the RP bit of FL yet so here we go~ This is a short one-shot about my main and her cousin, my alt, after he finished Seeking. It’s quick and sort of written for myself but hey, if any of you enjoy it then that’s great! Feedback and constructive criticism encouraged(please please please!!) Anyways, here she is
P.S. Phiri uses they/them pronouns, sorry in advance for any confusion.

A weak knock sent Phiri to the door after the daily Mr Sacks left and they quickly shoved the jar of honey into their weasel-proof pantry before bustling off towards the front. “I’m coming!” they shouted as the weak knocking turned to a desperate pounding. They opened their door to see their cousin shivering, knee-deep in lacre. He stood there a moment and then fell forward into Phiri’s front room, covering their welcome mat in the foul-smelling ‘snow.’
“Vermillion!” Phiri cried, pulling him inside by his arms and closing the door behind him. They quickly dragged their cousin to their guest room and carefully set him him onto the bed. He moaned and curled into himself like a dying flower.
Phiri pushed his jacket open and gasped as they saw two long, dark stains on his shirt. They hurriedly yanked the shirt up to reveal two scars with darkened edges weeping a greenish white viscous-looking liquid. They ran to get a bowl of water and a cloth and gently cleaned the wounds as Vermillion thrashed.
The scars did not look any better but the fluid started to stop at least. Phiri tried their best to pack it with spider silk so that at least it could clot.
They stayed with Vermillion through the night as he thrashed and moaned and cried and screamed, occasionally using a spoon to drip cool water between his lips. When Vermillion finally exhausted himself enough to fall into a comatose sleep, Phiri pulled a chair next to the bed and began to doze off.