Cryptic Stitching -- Here Goes Nothing!

Well, as the title says–here it goes! I have completed Act One of Cryptic Stitching awhile ago, and since it looks like Failbetter is not going to be developing the engine for awhile, I have realized that there’s a good chance it won’t get completed.

But y’know, I’m still kind of proud of what I did in Act One. It’s occasionally buggy and occasionally a grind, but I love the world and I’d like people to be able to play with it, even if future installments wind up somewhere else. (I’m an author and illustrator in my real life, and I won’t swear that the setting won’t show up as a comic some day or perhaps something else.)

So–err–here’s my first attempt, which got huge and sprawling and kinda got away from me, but you can at least see what I was trying to do.

Umm. All I get, after character choices, is a card “This game is not yet playable” which I cannot even ‘Perhaps Not’ out of…

That…is very confusing! I have tried running through it and it works okay for me. Um. Let me go see what I can do…

Ha! Fixed it. Thank you, that’s embarassing.

I’m afraid the opp card also is now stuck in my hand. Perhaps add a “This is no longer true” option of some sort to make it go away?

Have now made it discardable! Does that help?

(Sigh. I had people playtest the heck outta the game–but not, apparently, the intro sans Keys!)

That does indeed help!

I got the &quotThis Game is Not Yet Playable But I appreciate your enthusiasm! Please come back later when it’s actually ready to go!&quot thing too, but the perhaps not worked. Odd though.

Perhaps you should delete that card, or hide it?

Edit: I do love how storynexus games seem to make a habit of third option gender. :-)
edited by babelfishwars on 2/27/2014

I have shunted it off to the hole, and am hoping it will not trouble future players.

Have a card called ‘the teddy bears’ very near the beginning with just placeholder textures.