Advice and Suggestions for a Returning Player?

I’ve been playing Fallen London on-and-off since 2010, but only have recently started to play everyday again. What are some goals to have/storylines I’ve missed? I’m attempting to get safe-conduct to the Iron Republic, but this appears to take a while since raising Counting the Days takes so long. I’m thinking of attempting to save for an Overgoat, although I’m not quite sure what the best way to do this is (most cost-efficient in terms of echo/action?).I sold off all low-level items I have that were in excess of 100 echoes’ worth, and still only came up with about 1200 echoes. I’m working on raising my notability enough to get a new profession; I kind of wish that getting a single point of Notability hadn’t used up my 24 Making Waves. I’m thinking of getting the items for the Salon, once it’s available; I have most of them but still need a few things like Cellars of Wine.

I’ve just finished the Cave of the Nadir. I noticed my stats were no longer at the maximum boundary, so I’ll probably try to raise those again. I’m not actually sure what other content boundary… er, content are. I’m quite happy with my lodgings (have all but the rooms at the bazaar, which I’m not interested in). I’ve eyed pieces of new equipment but they’re not really all that interesting to me, since with the exception of that incredibly disappointing Persuasive card with the ridiculous difficulty at the Cave of the Nadir, my stats are generally sufficient.

I think my problem here is with the exception of the Overgoat, I’m not all that keen on doing any of these, and the Overgoat sounds like so much grinding that it’s discouraging.
[li]