A familiar face in this month's exceptional story

(Spoilers for the story, obviously. I’ve still spoiler tagged plot twists and late game Sunless Seas content)

So, when your character goes over to the Covered Market, the Boucher uses the same image as our friend the Bandaged Poissonnier from Sunless Seas. But that doesn’t guarantee that they’re the same, or the Last Constable would have been moonlighting as a Pastry Chef. Even the idea of a Tomb Colonist chef may be a coincidence. But there’s some more evidence that made me realize that I don’t think this is a theory, just a subtextual fact.

1. He peppers his speech with French. While I don’t recall the Banaged Poissonnier doing that himself, both Poissonnier and Boucher are the French words for fishmonger and butcher respectively.
  2. He’s actually a poissonnier/fishmonger by trade and misses the sea/zee. This is why completely convinced this is subtext, not conjecture.

And now the question is why he’s a boucher and back on Terra Firma? Obviously, he explains in the previous echo that he’s doing it to &quotlearn the ways of the flesh&quot, but at the end of the story, you realize something is afoot.